The aim of the UKEDC awards is to:

Allow the equality dance community to acknowledge and thank people for their contribution to that community.

Emphasise that UKEDC members are central to the direction of the UKEDC and should be actively involved in its work.

Provide another channel for members to express their views as to what they see and value.

Support the aims of the UKEDC’s strategy.

Align with the UKEDC’s constitutional objectives to “provide a forum for communication, support, coordination and development for our members and other people and organisations interested in equality dancing” and “ bring visibility and prominence to UK competitors, adjudicators and organisers to afford us the authority and credibility which we deserve”.

Awards 2024

There are three categories for nominations:

The UKEDC inclusion award

The UKEDC community development award

The UKEDC champion award

The criteria for each award can be found here (opens as a downloadable document)

Nominations for awards can be made here

A panel of UKEDC members chaired by Committee member, Lori Pearce-Altendorff, will prepare a shortlist of nominations. The process the panel will follow plus an indicative timeline for nominations, shortlisting and voting can be found here (opens as a downloadable document)

Awards 2023

The recipients of the UKEDC awards 2023 were:

The UKEDC inclusion award: Paul Killick for the inclusion of equality categories in the Open Worlds competition.

The UKEDC community development award: Jacky Logan for her continued contribution to equality dancing over many years.

The UKEDC champion award: Michael Hall and George Tzoulas for acting as ambassadors for and raising the profile of equality dancing within the mainstream competitive dance circuit.


Certificate of Honorary Membership awarded to:

  • Jacky Logan
  • Vernon Kemp
  • Ralf Schiller
  • Bishopsgate Institute

Contribution to Equality Dancing:

  • Peter Meager
  • Norma Daykin
  • George Tzoulas